COVID-19 Update

Select category:

COVID-19 Update

On 12 October the Prime Minister announced a new system of COVID-19 restrictions to replace the existing local lockdown measures in individual areas. 

Under the new scheme, local areas will be placed in one of three tiers; Tier 1 (Medium), Tier 2 (High) and Tier 3 (Very High). 

Tier 1 areas are subject to the existing national restriction measures such as the ‘rule of six’. 

Those areas within Tier 2 see additional restrictions, such as a ban on households mixing indoors. 

In Tier 3 areas, indoor gyms, fitness and dance studios and indoor sports facilities are required to close by law, which is in contradiction to the guidance issued and is currently being challenged. 

However, an exemption applies which allows these venues to be used by elite sports people, under 18s and people with a disability. Within each of these tiers, organised outdoor sporting activity can continue and remains exempt from restrictions on the number of people allowed to gather, subject to this taking place under approved guidance. 

Detailed guidance on what you can do in each of these tiers is available here: 

The government has also published a postcode checker to find out which tier your local area is in.

Continue to follow the UKCA Return to Play guidance document, taking into account local lockdown rules

Stay Safe

Share with your community

Competition Highlights